ISTH Awards Anthony Hubbard With Roberts Medal for SSC Contributions

ISTH Awards Anthony Hubbard With Roberts Medal for SSC Contributions

ISTH Awards Anthony Hubbard With Roberts Medal for SSC Contributions

The International Society on Thrombosis and Haemostasis (ISTH) has awarded the Harold R. Roberts medal to Anthony R. Hubbard, Ph.D., in recognition of his significant contributions to the Scientific and Standardization Committee (SSC). This award signifies meritorious service to the SSC that goes beyond what is expected and that takes place over a significant period of time.

Hubbard currently serves as the Haemostasis Section Leader, Biotherapeutics Group, of the National Institute for Biological Standards and Control (NIBSC) in the United Kingdom. Now in his fourth decade of scientific development at the NIBSC, Hubbard cites the SSC as the pivotal framework for the essential international collaborations propelling his work in global biological standardization. He first became involved with the SSC in 1985 and has served many roles, including as the Chair of the SSC Coagulation Standards Standing Committee from 2006-2018.

With his guidance, the ISTH SSC and NIBSC partnered to develop the Secondary Standard Plasma in 1996, followed by several replacements up to the current Lot #5, which has assigned values for more than 20 coagulation-related analytes.

Hubbard has served in many other capacities to foster international collaboration, including as a member of the European Pharmacopoeia Group of Experts and as an expert member of the Biologics Working Party of the European Medicines Agency. Additionally, Hubbard served as a Rapporteur for the WHO Expert Committee on Biological Standardisation.


About the Roberts Medal
The ISTH presents this award to individuals who have used their time and talents to support the mission of the Society’s Scientific and Standardization Committee (SSC). The medal is named after Harold R. Roberts, an ISTH charter member who served as Secretary General of the SSC from 1978 to 1988. He was a leader, mentor, counselor and scientific diplomat recognized internationally for his fairness, wisdom and devotion to the SSC and the Society.

Past Award Winners

2017 Sam Schulman
2015 Anna Falanga
2013 Gerhard J. Johnson
2011 Gilbert C. White
2009 David Aronson
2007 Margareta Blombäck
2006 Jane G. Lenahan


Previous Article Impact of Novel Therapies Around the World
Next Article Role of DOAC in PAD